Foro Italico (Olympic Village)
Flaminio, Parioli, Villa Borghese
- Location: Foro Italico (Olympic Village)
- Address: Viale delle Olimpiadi, 31
- Visit lasts: 1 hour (about)
Built in the valley of Monte Mario, it was designed between 1928 and 1936 during the fascist regime (Enrico del Debgbio and Luigi Moretti), as a complex dedicated to sport, immersed in green and connected with the other side of the Tiber by Ponte Duca d’Aosta. The center of it all is the obelisk dedicated to Mussolini in Carrara marble, next to which is the former Accademia di Musica (today IUSM) and the Covered Pool enriched by mosaics (Costantini 1937). The Viale Del Foro Italico is flanked by blocks of marble etched with key dates of the regime and the pavement is decorated with a mosaic weave of black and white depicting various sports. At the end of the street is the Fontana della Sfera (the Fountain of the Sphere). Then there is the Olympic Stadium (rebuilt in 1953 and 1990) and the Stadio dei Marmi, surrounded by 60 statues of athletes donated by Italian cities.